About The Prize About

Inequality, Immigration, and the Politics of Populism

nyrb oct 28 2017

A Conference

October 28—29, 2017

NYU School of Law
Greenberg Lounge, Vanderbilt Hall
40 Washington Squre South
New York, NY 10012
United States

More Information

Review Committees 2017


Prof. Graeme Barker, CHAIRPERSON
McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research
University of Cambridge
United Kingdom

Prof. Daniel Bradley
Molecular Population Genetics 
Smurfit Institute of Genetics 
Trinity College Dublin 

Prof. Israel Finkelstein
The Department of Archaeology and Ancient Near Eastern Cultures
The Sonia and Marco Nadler Institute of Archaeology
Tel Aviv University

Prof. Julia Lee-Thorp
Research Laboratory for Archaeology and the History of Art
University of Oxford
United Kingdom



Prof. Robert Alter, CHAIRPERSON
Department of Near Eastern Studies
University of California

Prof. Françoise Meltzer
Divinity School
University of Chicago

Prof. Tova Rosen
Department of Hebrew Literature
Tel Aviv University

Prof. Lois Parkinson Zamora
Department of English
University of Houston



Prof. Richard Ellis, FRS, CHAIRPERSON
European Southern Observatory

Prof. Julianne Dalcanton
Department of Astronomy
University of Washington

Prof. Dan Maoz
School of Physics & Astronomy
The Raymond and Beverly Sackler Faculty of Exact Sciences
Tel Aviv University

Prof. Scott Tremaine, FRS
Institute for Advanced Study
School of Natural Sciences
Princeton University

Review Committees 2018

Past – History of Science

Prof. Naomi Oreskes, Chairperson
Professor of the History of Science
Department of the History of Science
Harvard University, Boston, MA, USA

Prof. James Andrew Secord
Professor of History and Philosophy of Science
Department of History and Philosophy of Science
University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

Prof. M. Norton Wise
Professor of History of Science
UCLA Institute for Society and Genetics
University of California, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Prof. Menachem Fisch
Professor of History and Philosophy of Science
Director of the Center for Religious and Interreligious Studies
Tel Aviv University
Tel Aviv, Israel


Present – Bioethics

Prof. John Harris, Chairperson
Professor Emeritus University of Manchester and Visiting Professor of Bioethics
Department of Global Health & Social Medicine
School of Global Affairs
Kings College London, United Kingdom

Prof. Inez de Beaufort
Professor of Medical Ethics and Philosophy
Erasmus MC
University Medical Center Rotterdam
The Netherlands

Prof. Thomasine Kushner
Professor Emerita of Bioethics
Health and Medical Sciences Program
University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA

Prof. Shai Lavi
Professor of Law
Director, Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics
Tel Aviv University
Director, Van Leer Jerusalem Institute


Future – Personalized Medicine

Prof. Peter Vogt, Chairperson
Professor of Molecular Biology, Virology and Genetics
Department of Molecular Medicine
The Scripps Research Institute
La Jolla, CA, USA

Prof. Webster K. Cavenee
Professor of Medicine
Director of Strategic Alliances in Central Nervous System Cancers
The Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
University of California
San Diego, CA, USA

Prof. Nancy E. Davidson
Professor of Medicine, Pharmacolgy and Chemical Biology
Senior Vice President and Director, Clinical Research Division
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, WA, USA

Prof. Diane E. Griffin
Professor of Infectious Diseases and Neurology
Harry Feinstone Dept. Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Baltimore, MD, USA

Prof. Nancy A. Jenkins
Professor of Oncology
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
The University of Texas, Houston, TX, USA

Prof. Peter Palese
Professor of Microbiology and Medicine
Chair, Department of Microbiology
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, NY, USA

Prof. Gideon Rechavi
Professor of Hematology
Head, Sheba Cancer Research Center
The Chaim Sheba Medical Center
Ramat Gan, Israel