Laureates 2018

2018 Future - Personalized Medicine

Prof. Carlo Croce

Prof. Carlo CroceOhio State University
Columbus, OH, USA

Prof. Carlo M. Croce is an Italian-American molecular geneticist and professor of medicine at Ohio State University. He is the director of Human Cancer Genetics, Chairman of Molecular Virology, Immunology and Medical Genetics, and director of the Institute of Genetics at The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center. He is also professor of medical oncology at the University of Ferrara School of Medicine.

Prof. Croce has made major contributions to the understanding of the specific genetic bases of specific cancers. He is a pioneer in the unraveling of the molecular basis of a number of lymphoma and leukemia cancers. Mastering both cytogenetics and molecular biology, he identified the role of major oncogenes as drivers of cancer development, progression and resistance to therapy. His studies also demonstrated the role of micro RNAs in tumor pathogenesis. His numerous findings in cancer enable precise cancer diagnosis, individualized targeting of therapy and the development of novel rationally designed anti-cancer drugs.
Among his many awards he received, the Charles S. Mott Prize from the General Motors Cancer Research Foundation (1993,) the Scientific Excellence in Medicine Award from the American-Italian Cancer Foundation (1997), the Chauncey D. and Elizabeth W. Leake Speaker Award in 2014 and in 2015 the Outstanding Investigator Award from the National Cancer Institute. He was awarded by the American Association for Cancer Research both the G.H.A. Clowes Memorial Award in 2006, and the Margaret Foti Award in 2017.

In 1999, Prof. Croce received the Raymond Bourgine Award and Gold Medal of Paris, and in 2000, the Honor of Merit of the Italian Republic. He was honored with The Henry M. Stratton Medal by the American Society of Hematology in 2007.

Prof. Croce is a member of The National Academy of Sciences, USA, the National Academy of Medicine, the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies, and the National Academy of Inventors. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.