Media & Events

Inauguration Ceremony, 2001

On Saturday 12 May, 2001, at the Opera House, Tel Aviv Performing Center, Israel, the Dan David Prize was officially launched.

The launching was declared by Mr. Dan David, founder of the Prize, who received a certificate marking the event from Israeli Foreign Minister and Deputy Prime Minister, Mr. Shimon Peres. 

Prof. Itamar Rabinovich, President of Tel Aviv University emphasized the importance of such a prize for the benefit of science.

Also present at the ceremony were Tel Aviv University Board of Governors; Tel Aviv University Senate, the Director of Dan David Prize, Dr. Gad Barzilai, and many other distinguished guests.

The inaugurating ceremony was held as part of Tel Aviv University Honorary Degrees Conferment Ceremony.

The recipients of Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa were:

Dr. Mario Arthur Adler, Brazil
Prof. Kenneth J. Arrow, U.S.A
Prof. Sidney D. Drell, U.S.A
Prof. Stanley Fischer, U.S.A
Sir David Hare, England
Mr. Frank P. Lowy, AC, Australia
Mrs. Claire Maratier, France
Prof. Hubert S. Markl, Germany
Adv. Moshe Porath, Israel
Mrs. Naomi Shemer, Israel

The recipients of Honorary Fellowship were:

Mr. Stanley Grosman, Australia
Mr. Leslie Wolfson, Scotland