Media & Events

Laureates Announced 2013

Prof. Joseph Klafter, President of Tel Aviv University and Chairman of the Dan David Prize Board, and Prof. Itamar Rabinovich, Chairman of the Dan David Foundation, announcing the 2013 Dan David Prize Laureates.


Past - “Classics, The Modern Legacy of the Ancient World”

Prof. Sir Geoffrey Lloyd of the Needham Research Institute and the University of Cambridge, for his work on the subject of Greek science as a major field in the history of classical philosophy and has illuminated the roots of modern science.

Present – “Ideas, Public Intellectuals and Contemporary Philosophers”

Prof. Michel Serres of Stanford University and Université de Paris, one of the most important modern French philosophers, for his intimate knowledge of the western tradition in philosophy and science and for his discussion of a vast range of current questions.

Mr. Leon Wieseltier, American intellectual and philosopher and Literary Editor of The New Republic, a foremost writer and thinker who confronts and engages with the central issues of our times, setting the standard for serious cultural discussion in the United State.

Future – “Preventive Medicine”

Prof. Esther Duflo, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, a noted economist for her work on social conditions and strategies related to the alleviation of poverty which deals directly with prevention of disease.

Dr. Alfred Sommer of Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health for his unexpected and striking discovery in demonstrating that vitamin A has the power to save children’s lives.